Question: Help! Advice wanted please for complete newbie!

saraknight

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all! I really want to get 2 Axolotls but don't want to get them and then find myself in over my head as it were. I've been reading up alot on here but I'm starting to worry (something I do frequently lol) if I know enough to be a good enough owner. I have a 3ft bowed tank which I have already put sand in, about a 2-3" layer. It was from an aquatic shop and I told them what it was needed for and they said it was fine, the girl has Axies herself.I also have 2 tunnel/cave things so they can have one each if they wished. I was thinking I'd get a couple of plants and that should be that. That sound ok so far?
Plus, males or females? I read on here that someone found the females to be more aggressive? I know its always a risk but I'd prefer to narrow down the chance of them losing limbs if I can. Also what size/age is best for a beginner? I didn't want them to be too old as I want them to get to know me but now I'm worried about their care being so small?
Sorry I've gone on but I'm getting myself so stressed about it, but I really love Axolotls and would be devasted if I got them and did something wrong all because I hadn't asked. Thank you for taking the time (and having the patience lol) to read this. :eek:

Hey, let me see if I can help.