Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

URGENT! Is he bleeding??

saraknight

Reaction score
Please help! It could be due to me being a complete newbie at this but I'm worried:( I was just watching my baby wild type (approx. 5-6" long) and I noticed as he's moved there is a red patch in the sand approx. 1 1/2cm squared. I watched longer and as he sat there I watched it come from his bum. Is he doing a wee? Do Axies wee? Or am I gonna lose him? His eating hasn't been as good as my Leucistic, but she's only half his size. He had quite a big worm the other day but he had sicked it back up overnight. He didn't want anything the next day which I thought was fair enough. I gave them blood worm yesterday which he ate some of but she's definately eaten more than him since he was sick. I haven't noticed this before at all with either so I'm really worried I've done something wrong. Please advise asap, anyone. Many thanks!!:(

saraknight

Reaction score
I don't know, it was as though he'd had a wee, it was only liquid. It stained the sand and then dispersed gradually, mixing in with the water???

saraknight

Reaction score
nope, externally he looks normal. I was just worried incase anything had gone wrong internally. His belly looks rounded both sides, but that could just be normal. I'll try to put some pics of both on in case anyone can see anything.

saraknight

Reaction score
Here's the pictures, only problem is Benni (wild type) is nervous and so difficult to get a proper picture of him. Sophie on the other hand isn't at all. Do they look ok? To my untrained eye I can't see anything?? Any advice gladly welcome though

Attachments

• DSC02593.jpg
    DSC02593.jpg
    32.8 KB · Views: 190