Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Distilled water yay or nay?

christen525

Reaction score
Hi I am new to axolotls and I don't trust my tap water. Is using distilled water from the supermarket ok? I appreciate all the help I can get.

Thanks!

christen525

Reaction score
Thanks for your help! I want everything set up properly before I get any axolotl...I'm hoping shoegal still has some!

michael

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
If your local water is o.k. for tropical fish it is o.k. for axolotls. Sometimes bottled water is no better quality than water coming out of the tap. Axolotls do well in hard water. If your water is not hard some aquarium salt or saltwater mix added to the water will help. I have hard water and still add about 1 tablespoon of saltwater mix per 10 gallons of dechlorinated tap water to my Ambystoma mexicanum and Ambystoma andersoni water.

I'm glad I can squirt my water in with a food safe garden style hose instead of lugging jugs of water.

shoegal

Reaction score
Christen- here is a quote from the article SludgeMunkey recommended:

"Do NOT use water that is labeled as "distilled" or "drinking water". Distilled water (or Reverse Osmosis water) has virtually no ions in it, so it causes more work for the amphibian's kidneys. It may be used to replace water lost to evaporation, but an animal should not be kept in pure distilled or RO water. Bottled "drinking water" is usually just filtered tap water and probably no better than your own tap water."

christen525

Reaction score
Thanks Mariah