I am new to Caudata.org

dixychickca

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Let me tell you a little bit about my pet. I have a male tiger salamander that I found in my basement when I was moving out of house. It scared the heck out of my husband and I was a little freaked out by what he found. So. I took him upstairs in a cloth and ran him under the water to clean him up. Saw on how cute he was a had to keep him. When we finished loading the truck and did a walkthrough, I found a skeleton salamander and I was sad. He likes to attack my fingers and I am not sure why. I will try to load a picture of him to show you all. He was moving around too much when I was taking the picture. Hope you all like it.

Attachments

• Picture 1.jpg
    Picture 1.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 126
Welcome to the forum.

The 'attacking' of the fingers just means your digits look like they might be edible. Tiger sals can have quite the voracious appetites. Yours looks a little thin, which is understandable if you just found it. Check out their care sheet linked above for tips on how to set up the tank and keep your new buddy healthy.

I've had my pet for almost a year and when I found him I was scrumaging in my basement to find spiders for him to eat. Every animal that I found always died on me and wasn't going to let it happen to him. I did a lot of research to figure out what he is, and how to care for him. There is this guy on youtube.com, he was very helpful, especially in determining the sex...etc... I hope my picture of him is clear enough to see his markings. Is he a tiger salamander or is he a spotted? I will post more pictures of my little guy soon. Thank you for all your advice.

It sure looks like a tiger to me. Spotted salamanders don't have the yellow on their throats and stomachs that gives the Tigers their distinct "smiles." Also, Tigers have yellow/orange eyes, while the spotted salamander has a more solid black eye.