Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: My Axolotl hasn't eaten for almost a week

rossman86

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to the Axolotl game and was blown away by them ever since they became known to me whilst watching an episode of QI. I have had 2 of them for since November of last year and all of a sudden one have them has stopped eating over the past week and is behaving strangely... During the evening, early hours of the morning he seems to tirelessly swim against the side of the tank (knocking the themometer againt the glass, which is incredibly annoying). He's completely changed he doesn't meet me at the glass or show any interest in food.

I have noticed that his gills are curled forward a little, which I have read is a sign of stress induced by too much flow. The Filter I use agreed is a lil on the powerful side, but I have a spray bar and i've angled it towards the glass and up towards the surface and has not been a problem before. Any advise guys would be great.

Thank you.

Regards

Skilly

Reaction score
Have you checked your water chemistry? Something may be off and causing irritation to your axie. What are the ammonia levels, nitrate, nitrite, PH, and temperature?

rossman86

Reaction score
No I have not done a test on the water, I have done a 3/4 water change (treated tap water). The water temperature in the tank is mostly between the 19-21 mark of recent, but i have been using the frozen water bottle technique during the day recently.

dragonlady

Reaction score