Question: Home made Coolers/Chiller

rossman86

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What is your opinion on chillers for maintaining a comfortable temperature? I am dreading the summer and even an English Summer looks like it could tip to the higher side of the Themometer. Has anyone any tips they could offer me, home made or ones they use that are good, with minimum flow etc

Thank you for those hyperlinks Eric very helpful. I have one question on the fan above the water surface technique?? It mentions this is only effective with a screened lid?? That the same as a condense tray?? If so how does the work if the lid is on top?

Really sorry if this is a stupid question, i'm new to this.

If you are using a household fan, you can just aim it to blow across the surface of the water, with or without a screen top. The screen top is key if you are using a reef style fan or building your own with computer style fans.

A condense tray is solid, isn't it?

Yes a condense tray is, I will try that fan idea. Thank you

If you have a screen top or no top the fan will cool the tank by evaporative cooling. If the tank has a glass lid the fan will cool the light some but their won't be much evaporative cooling.

Generally chillers don't have a pump, so you need this as well. They are a bit pricey but certainly do the job. Even through the UK winter I was having problems keeping the tank cool with the central heating on in the house so thought a chiller would be the best option. Mine is a Hailea 150 with an Aqua One 700 external canister filter serving a 110 litre (24 UK/29 US gallon) aquarium. The filter is supplying the chiller with clean water and using siphon and pump to circulate.