Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Cycling ammonia levels

waterbabys

Reaction score
Hello this is my first time cycling a tank should the ammonia levels rise before dropping? the ammonia level is about 2.0 now but last week was 0.25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
General hardness 16
Carbonate hardness 6
PH 7.6
Chlorine 0.8 and the temp has risen to 22C
Is this all ok and what should I do next?
My newt is not in the tank

A

achiinto

It make sense to rise before drop. If has to rise to reach from 0 to 0.25 in the first place. As there is no rise in Nitrite, there is no drop in Ammonia. You have to wait for the bacteria colony to establish. You might also speed this up by introducing rocks/gravels from established cycled tank. This is normal for ammonia to build up if there is not bacteria in there yet, as long as you have food that decay in the tank, ammonia will build up. Hopefully your newts would be harmed by the ammonia, if you keep it in the same tank.

shmifty5

Reaction score
you may want to look into a small water change of 25%, ammonia above 1.00 ppm has been shown to be harmful to aquatic animals, if the newts are in the water that is cycling it is definately advised that weekly if not daily water changes should be performed until the ammonia begins to drop and nitrites begine to rise, once nitrites begin to rise the water changes can be relaxed a little bit and finally once nitrates are present you can just do the normal tank care.

it will definately be a while before your tank cycles but in the end it will be worth it.

waterbabys

Reaction score
My newt is in a much smaller bowl with the water being changed everyday.