Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Turtle Person learns to love the Axolotl

imderanged

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new here, I have some experience with reptiles and amphibians, but truth be told my main focus has been on TURTLES (have RES & Eastern box). The RES was what started it ALL and NOW I have moved into FROGS (I have WTF and a Pixie--separate of course!) My limited experience with newts & salamanders was a wild caught (oops!:eek:) newt (species???) that I captured on a camping trip as a kid and a couple of Firebelly Newts I kept as a teenager. Recently though I have become VERY interested in getting an Axolotl and have been lurking here and there doing research and checking out the classified here. Now I have encountered my first problem. I live in New Jersey. I noticed the in many of the ads selling Axolotls it says : NO CA, NO NJ. :crazy: Are axolotls illegal here? I searched it on Google and didn't find anything. I'm not giving up that easily!

dragonlady

Reaction score
Hi and welcome! I also have RES and a pixie among my critters. My pixie is without a doubt my favorite frog - just so voracious!

I understand your intrigue with the axolotls and wish I had more positive news, but my only suggestion for you is to consider changing states. Axolotls are indeed illegal in NJ as well as CA. Look on page 5 HERE for more information.

Last edited:

imderanged

Reaction score
Hi and welcome! I also have RES and a pixie among my critters. My pixie is without a doubt my favorite frog - just so voracious!