Sick axolotl need help

cwdragon

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey recently noticed that my black axolotl has some stuff on its leg varying from white to a blackish colour and his toes have gone completely white i have attached a photo of the leg and he doesnt seem to move the leg unless he absolutely has to

Attachments

• S7301452.jpg
    S7301452.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 5,840
Looks like fungus to me. I'm no axolotl expert so wait for someone more
Knowledgeable to reply :)

Hi,

From your pic, that doesn't really look like fungus to me. Fungus usually presents itself as soft and cotton or wool like. Also that leg appears deformed, is it or is it just the pic?

If it is another form of growth, I would suggest fridging him and seeking a vet's advice.

As for the toes turning white, do you mean on that foot or are all his toe tips turning white on all his feet? If this is happening on the tips of all his toes, it could just be pigment change or a sign of maturity, depending on the axolotl's age.

I am concerned about the look of his gills, have they deteriorated or is this how they have always been?

Sorry, Fungus is treated with salt baths and if this is not fungus, you could end up stressing your axolotl more for no reason. A better pic and/or some more info would be very helpful, thank you.

Well, here's the response every thread on this section of the forum gets:

What conditions is you Axolotl being kept in? What size is the tank, is the Axolotl being kept alone, what are the parameters (pH, ammonia, nitrates, nitrites), and what is the temp?

That is not a normal injury, in fact, I have never seen anything like it, but it also worries me that like Shannon says, the gills look to be in pretty bad shape as well. I have a feeling your water isn't the best it could be, which is contributing to his condition.

I would fridge him, and consult a vet. Fridging procedures can be found here: Axolotl Sanctuary