Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Dechlorinator with axolotls

dipsydoodle

Reaction score
Ok another one of my questions, is it essential to have dechlorinator with axolotls? I read it was (on here)…however my question stems from here (and another discussion about fish on another forum).

I have never used dechlorinator before; I have been keeping goldfish for 17 years; my current goldfish all turned 9 this year (or I’ve had them that long anyway). I have a betta and newts in the same water (different tanks, same water source).

The discussion on the other forum was saying how some people used it and some hadn’t – I haven’t used it and I don’t want to start introducing it to their tanks now.

When I tested my tap water a few weeks ago the readings were:
pH = 7.5
Ammonia = Trace (not 0.25ppm but not zero)
Nitrite = 0ppm
Nitrate = 0ppm

I don’t know the hardness or anything else of the water but we do live in a hard water zone.

If I have to get some for an axolotl then that’s fine; I just don’t want to alter the water that everything else is happy with.

When I tested my newts water last week (I didn’t test the pH stupidly); it was
Ammonia = 0ppm
Nitrite = 0ppm
Nitrate = slight trace (I’ve been doing more water changes lately with the increased temperature so it’s not getting a chance to build up).

I should add I am using the API liquid test kit.

jclee

Reaction score