Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Preparing To Own An Axolotl

Sean1364

Reaction score
Hi. My name is Sean, I'm 23, and I'm a Paramedic in Michigan. I'm obviously new to the site. I found multiple links to this website when doing research on Axolotls. I've read novels of information on the little guys, and I finally feel ready to take on the responsibility of owning one. In preparation, I've purchased a 40 gallon tank, an appropriate power filter, sand and gravel (large enough not to be eaten), some plants, a log for them to hide under, and plenty of Brineshrimp. I've calculated and maintained the water temperature, tested the pH, dechlorinated the water, and run the filter for two days. I've purchased the cleaning supplies, and ensured the tank has no leaks. As soon as the sand settles, I think it's time to go for it. I look forward to becoming part of the Axolotl owning community (as soon as I get 5 posts down and purchase one.)

jclee

Reaction score
Sounds like you're good to go! I would recommend cycling the tank before getting the axolotls, just to make the move a little easier on them.

Keep us posted when you get them!

Sean1364

Reaction score
Sounds like you're good to go! I would recommend cycling the tank before getting the axolotls, just to make the move a little easier on them.

Keep us posted when you get them!

Thanks for posting.

What do you mean by cycling it?

Sean1364

Reaction score
Ok, follow-up question. Is cycling necessary as long as proper cleaning methods are taken, such as constant filtering (especially before) and changing out the water regularly?

jclee

Reaction score