Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Help please, complete novice!

shannonzico

Reaction score
Basically i've found that my sister has two firebelly newts that she's had for 2 years now, they are kept in a fish tank with other fish which they got told was ok! They barely ever go in the water and she says they dont eat much at all, there just fed on blood worms and nothing else.

I know realise it is not ok and in an ideal world i think these guys need re-homing which she is quite happy to do, can any one advice me the best way to go about this?

I Have a lot of rescue pets myself and its really important to me to find good homes for these poor mites, the temp in there tank is far to high and they are tiny compared to some of the pictures i've seen on here! :(

I really want to impove there lives ASAP but dont really know how to....
I have an old fish tank but i really don't think its sutible though may be better than what they have?
Cool 21ltr Blue Goldfish Aquarium Kit by Marina | Pets at Home

this is the empty tank i have but its empty for the reason i dont think its sutible for anyting?!
Please help!
ETA she go them from this place that advised her it was ok to keep them with fish http://www.tropicalfish.org.uk/ do you think maybe i should contact them and question why they are giving the wrong advice?

Last edited:

shannonzico

Reaction score
thank you claire, ive had a read of that already but it doesn't give me any idea on size of the tank, i' jus wnderig if basicall anything is better than being with fish in a too warm tank?

It appears to me they like floor space under the water? Which the tank i have won't give them much off....