Question: Baby Axolotl

Jaymee

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Jammy Dodger
I've recently gone out and bought a baby axolotl :D (wild type). I've got 3 mature large axolotls yellow, wild, and brown, and this baby (all female), well I feed all them the same thing and they're all fine with it, except for this baby I've had her two days now and she still hasn't eaten, aren't really sure what to do? :confused: Wait for her to take the food or buy different food entirely? I normally feed them every other day with a small strip of devon :happy:. Nothing is showing wrong with her, she looks healthy and is dancing round the tank so just think it's a bit weird that she doesn't want food.

(don't suggest blood worms because I can't buy them anywhere close to me)

I've kept axolotls for a very long time so just bare that in mind. I'm not a novice, just want your idea on it. ;)

Last edited by a moderator:
First, can I suggest writing in proper English? There are lots of international members on here who don't speak or read English as a first language and it is hard enough on them without having to figure out 'text' speak. Thank you.

Now onto your questions. I have no clue what devon is but I would assume it is either fish or beef? If so a diet entirely made up of this is not benificial to your axolotls but it is OK as a treat. I recommend you switch them to a main diet or earthworms. These can easily be found in your backyard or a nearby garden, as long as it is pesticide and insecticide free.

When you say baby just how small is this axolotl?

Your new axolotl is probably just stressed out from the move and should start resuming feedings within the next day or two.

cheers for tha but u didnt have insult me dude . not cool

Is the new addition in with the others?

Justin was not being insulting you, 'text speak' is not aceptable on this forum for the reasons he gave you. Have aquick look at the rules that you agreed to follow when you signed up.