Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Floating

Wendymac

Reaction score
Help, my axolotl seems to spend a lot of time at the top of the tank over the last couple of days. Earlier I found him floating around and going upside down, he looked like he had died, after touching him he 'woke' up and went to the bottom of the tank. I then fed him and he ate., but now he is at the top of the tank again.

deliriah

Reaction score
I am no expert on axolotls, but maybe a picture would help. Also I know you will be asked about your parameters (water quality, ammonia, nitrites and nitrates?) so I'll ask that now as well. These things will make it easier to help you figure out why your poor axie is floating.

daremo

Reaction score
and also what substrate are you using?

i think its not unusual to see them floating if they swallow gravel...

how big is the axie?

callina

Reaction score
it sounds to me like there isn´t any problem - your axies is a funny guy. :lol:
He had no problems to reach the ground for a snack and after that he takes a little sleep again.

How old/big is your axie? Young axies like to play - what we in Germany call "submarine".;)

But to clarify this, please answer the asked questions for the kind of the ground and the water parameters.
What´s the water temp and what are you feeding him?

Wendymac

Reaction score