Blind, no gills, and kept with other fish. HELP

sam1014

Reaction score
Country
England
Display Name
Sam
Basically, im new to all this. I'd never even heard of axolotls until i went to an Aquatics in B'ham and seen them and immediantly wanted one. I asked the guy if i could have one and explained what other fish i had in my tank. He said i was fine to have it as it isn´t aggressive so won´t attack my fish. I instantly bought it and was very happy. He seemed to settle in well and had no real problems with my other fish. It was only when i went on internet the next day and done research that i realised they´re meant to be kept on their own! I also noticed that he kept swimming into things. I spoke to someone at another place and explained i´ve got him with other fish, he was shocked i still had fish alive and asked what colour eyes hes got, black or red? i said 'erm....he´s got white eyes' then the guy said no wonder he hasn´t killed all your fish, he's blind!!!!
so..., I've been sold a blind axolotl and I've got him with other fish.

next.....

A few days after i had him, i noticed that all his external gills have gone!! he´s only got little stumps now. The guy said, the other fish may have nipped them, but i don´t believe this as the other fish don´t really go by him.

Can anyone give me any advice???

I can´t put him in a separate tank as i´ve got nowhere to put it and can´t really afford one, and I don´t wanna get rid of him cause i´ve grown quite attached to him and love watchin him.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am sorry that you have been so miss informed about how to care for your axolotl.

Basically he needs to be separated from the fish as soon as possible. Most fish will be attracted to those lovely gills ( if you look they do look like lots of little worms) . I appreciate you are unable to buy a new tank, but how about one of those big plastic crates? or look on your local Freecycle.
Have a look at the site linked below :-