Overwhelmed by Axolotls

P

PennyJoy

Hi,
I'm brand new to axolotl keeping/breeding and only became involved when my son received two axolotls for his birthday. (he's 8 so I'm sort of in charge of learning what to do.)
Within two days of owning Licorice and Caramel the plastic plants inside the tank were covered with eggs and I was scouring axolotl web sites for help. We are all rather facinated by these incredible animals but also rather daunted by now having perhaps 50 + babies.
Have been so glad to find a forum like this with people so willling to share their knowledge of these amazing creatures.

Penny.

Hi im Helen I have babies as well its great fun like being a parent again lol mine are nearly 2 weeks old have eyes and gills should get legs in 2 more weeks If they surive im feeding them shrip brine so far so good How are yours going and can I help you or me goodluck :)

Hi, thanks for your welcome.
Yes, I could do with some help. I'm really struggling with the brine shrimp hatching. Have tried three batches and Í don't think any of them have worked (though I really don't know what I'm looking for.) Where do you get your live food from?
Penny

i saw live brine shrimp being sold at pet city..........do you have one near you.......im in brisbane and the store is in Mt Gravatt.....have you seen the hatchery DVD on the other thread????? by the way welcome to the forum......

I haven't tried Pet Barn yet. I think I'm going to have to broaden my search. So far the babies are still alive, I'm not sure what on though. The poor things. They are a variety of lengths, and some faster/stronger swimmers than others.