Question: Getting Set Up!

tmorgan

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Tahnee
Hi everyone! :D
I am new to this site as of today and I am very excited to start having axolotls! I was wondering if there are any tips out there for someone new to axolotls? What exactly do I need? I've been reading a lot about them, but some things I haven't been able to find. I am still learning how to navigate this site so maybe this posting is up somewhere else and I missed it? :confused:

Well anyways here is what I have:
I have a 55 gallon tank I got that is about 4 feet long. I got a long tank because I read that they like to hang out around the bottom. :happy:
I would like to get sand for the bottom because I know that if they eat pebbles they can die. Any suggestions on what kind of sand would be good for this?

I've read several different postings on live plants. Which ones are the best for my kind of set up and which ones are easy to grow?

What type of wood can go into a tank? I live near a very nice creek with a lot of different types of wood that are really interesting. Could I boil the wood to get any germs off of it or would I be better off ordering some online?

Also, can you think of anything that I might need to get set up before I get the little guys? I am in the preparation stage so the water hasn't been added, I just want to get everything all together before I set up. :)

Thank you so much for any help! :D
Tahnee

Hi Tahnee and welcome :happy:
I'd recommend that you buy a test kit to show the water conditions.
The (API) freshwater testing kit that I use tests for pH, Ammonia, Nitrites, and Nitrates. It's simple to use with it's small test-tubes and the colour chart.
You'll need a something like Tetra Aquasafe to treat the water before adding it, this rids the water of chlorine/chloramine/trace metals.
I'm so glad that you're not using gravel and have a large tank, and are asking all the right questions ;)