Sad state of axies in pet shop

Truffs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I dont post very often and i've never had any problems with pet/aquatic shops until today..... (apologies in advance for the following rant and also to anyone who's read this on another forum but i needed to rant and i need as much help and advice as i can get for this little guy)

I had gone to an aquatic shop for some live weed & some bloodworms. Its school hols so i'd got my daughter with me and we'd gone to a shop i've never been to before but had heard was good for fish & reptiles.

Anyway, i couldnt resist looking round at fish etc while in a new place and was initially pleasantly surprised to see a tank with 4 quite small axies in it as in my area theyre not something you often see for sale. When i looked closer though i wasnt so happy, i'm no expert and the only experience i have is of my own 2 adult axies but what i saw upset and annoyed me.

These were small axies, all under about 10cm. They were in a tank filled to the top with water, with a deep layer of small brightly coloured gravel, no plants, no hides, nothing apart from water and gravel. All 4 looked bloated and as the leucistic was so pale we could clearly see plenty of coloured stones inside the poor thing, on top of that the smallest one in the tank also had all 4 limbs basically missing and was just swimming around waving his little stumps. It was so desperately sad to see them like that.

I'm not usually one for confronting people and really didnt want to cause a scene, the fish all looked fine i'm just guessing they didnt have much knowledge of axies - a clue to that was on the tank where they had written... 'axelotyls' (ok so its only spelling but if they'd just googled they might have found out not only how to spell axolotl but also some basic care for them)