FYI: Newbie...but this is cool

JSkin

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to this sight and would like to say Hello and thank you for having me.

I am a mom who is constantly dragging my kids out...we stumbled upon a cow pond and found two HUGE tiger salamanders. Brought them home and realized these guys need to be returned to the same pond. So, we drove the 75 miles to return them the next day...but during the one night we had them they laid hundreds of eggs (stress prolly caused them to lay the eggs)! Well as of now I have 3 healthy barred (I think) tiger sallies.

I have put the two big guys in a large tupperware container with a duetto filter. They dont seem to want to be on land as I would have thought they would after losing their gills. They are very responsive and love feeding time, my daughter is really enjoying them and they all have names and believe it or not different personalities.

Two have turned into FULL salamanders and one is still in the very small newt stage...could this small one be a different sex?

I bought some aquarium lily bulbs which I will pot once they get going. Are the lily bulbs safe for these little guys? I live in a small town and had the choice of the lily bulbs and some ugly plant.

As of now I feed them bloodworms and the occasional earthworm. As newts they loved flies but now that they have transformed into salamanders they have a hard time seeing and successfully catching the DEAD fly. Does their eyesight change?

I mostly wanted to share our story...it has been a very educational experience for our whole family!

Again...thanks for having me and thanks for your time if you read this...recommendations are absolutely welcome! :eek: