Photo: What sex is our axolots

axelgirl

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hello noob here i just got our little guys 3 weeks ago and the owner of the pet store said they are still young but didn't say how old. well i have looked up info about how to tell the sex but i still can not tell can anyone give me a clue:confused: i want to give them proper names and hope they are male and female but i will still love them even if they are the same sex:p thank you for your time

Attachments

• Photo0115.jpg
    Photo0115.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 8,485
  • Photo0112.jpg
    Photo0112.jpg
    83.8 KB · Views: 5,209
  • Photo0111.jpg
    Photo0111.jpg
    79.9 KB · Views: 1,174
How big are they? They still look a little young to me and both look a bit underweight too. Axolotls are difficult to sex until a year old or more. You can suspect one way or the other before then but I think these still need to grow a bit and get some weight put on. I would lean towards the golden being female and the melanoid (??) being male. As far as names, some opt for more unisex names to avoid the proper name issue. ;)

Get them on a diet of some earthworms and they should plump up in no time. On a side note, I'd really re-consider those stones. There are just too many cases of axolotls accidentally ingesting large stones and some of those look like they are smaller than your pets' heads. In addition, you may find (as most do) that the stones are nearly impossible to keep clean. Lots of gunk seeps down in between rocks and later wreak havoc on your water chemistry. I personally prefer sand but there are other alternatives. I wish you well with your new additions and if you have any other questions, etc., don't hesitate to ask!

I completely agree with dragon lady on this one.
it is still hard to tell, give it time and the answer may become more clear.

brad:cool:

ps
enjoy your new additions:happy: