Question: Just trying to get my head around it.

TheWaffleFairy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
TheWaffleFairy
Hello! i'm Laura... i am new >.>
I've got quite a large fish tank in the living room that i would like to use to get an axie
just currently doing my research.
Everyones talking about testing water, what am i testing for? PH levels nitrates? ( i've never done this before) Although i have kept many reptiles.

Every site i've been on says a differnt water temp.... so what do you guys recommend?

yesterday i put black sand in the tank (Didn't wash it propper oops) so its pretty cloudy atm, I've added 3 live plants including some grass, are there any plants harmful to them?

i'm planning on using slate in the tank to create hides ( any objections?)

And last but not least lol , ive kept tropical fish for a while and encounterd snails...... i've read that axies eat snails in the wild... if it so happens snails have come in on some plants or something would the axie eat them? and would it be harmful to do so?

Hi and welcome! :happy:

As for testing the water, I use the API Master testing kit (freshwater) which although is about £25 or so, will last ages.

It tests for pH, Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates, and as a 'test-tube' kit it's much more accurate than the cheaper 'test-strips' available.

(PS. I have no links with the Company, but this brand is freely available in the UK and seems to get the 'thumbs-up' on the forum!)

Water temperatures should be 70F as a maximum, but as you're here in the UK I can't see us having a heatwave for a while :D There's loads of threads on cooling if need be, but room temperature is probably okay.

Slate shouldn't be a problem, I believe, it's relatively inert and won't affect the pH, but you may want to remove any sharp edges with a Dremel or something in case the creature may cut itself.

Hope this is of some help :happy:

Last edited: