Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Breeding Axols, i dont want so many young to take care of, help?

chuckieee

Reaction score
I would like to start breeding axolotls, but since it is my first time, i do not want to care for more than 15 juveniles; and i know they can have up to well over a hundred eggs at a time. is their anything i can do besides simply killing the eggs, i do not want to be inhumane.
i dont mind if other adult axols eat them as that is a natural but i personally dont not want to destroy a fertilized egg.

1.will the parents eat all of the remaining eggs i do not remove from the tank to be raised?
2. any other suggestions i can do so i dont have to raise so many axols?
1:49 AM

If i leave most of the fry in my adult axol tank, will the parents eat ALL or most of them?
if not, do you they would be dangerous to feed my fish?.. i would liek to breed, but dont want to be taking care of more than 40 fry.

Morrison

Reaction score
If you don't want too many axies to raise simply leave the eggs you don't want in the main tank. The big ones will eat them. Just take out whatever you want.

You can also sell the eggs you don't want to other axolovers.

And I think that there are always a few young axies that won't survive (even if they're in a safe tank)

electronfusion

Reaction score
is their anything i can do besides simply killing the eggs, i do not want to be inhumane.