Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Turkey Baster? and other questions?

ladyleslie2013

Reaction score
I am still new to all this. What is the turkey baster for? Is it for Cleaning or Feeding or both? i have been reading about the feeding jar. I would like a little more info on it.

Also, I recently saved my tiger salamander larvae from my cousin from being used as bait. I don't have every thing i need for him yet. I also have no were to release him safely.

I have him in a 10 Gallon tank with filter and aeration. im using no substrate and have a pot for him and some fake plants to hide in. The water temperature is right at 70 degrees. Is this OK?

also i can not afford a master test kit and a siphon just yet. What can i do to keep him safe, how often should i do partial water changes since i cant check water conditions?

Would a turkey baster and a net help to keep the tank clean?

I am feeding him frozen blood worms once a day. Is this to much? he seem so hungry.

He is very active and seems to be happy chasing his own reflection around in the tank.

i just want to keep him safe and comfortable until i can get all the supplies i need. Thanks so much.

morphyrichards

Reaction score
A turkey baster is like a big pipette. It has a flexible bulb on the end of a long tube. You squeeze the bulb in with your hand, point the other end of the tube at messy loose stuff inside your tank, let go of the bulb and it sucks up the messy stuff! Definitely useful for cleaning.