New Scotsman

Kris

Reaction score
Country
Scotland
Awrite lads ;)
My names Kris & im from Haddington Scotland.

Im really new to the amphibian scene, I was keeping a PP hermit crab for a few years but sadly while on the holiday the crabsitter left the windows open while she was molting & the stress of that + cold killed her.

So.. i was left with a 30 gallon tank, then someone suggested frogs but the people im staying with at the moment have a "thing" about live food like crickets but not worms :s
Anyway after reading about (i think it was mostly from this site) Im definitely set on keeping some fire belly newts.

I reckon i should be ready in 2 weeks.. Once I've finished setting up the tank :), in that time hopefully you guys can help my confidence in keeping this animal for the first time.

Welcome to the forums Kris.

I would like to recommend that you take a look at other species. All Cynops orientalis that are available from shops are wild-caught and frequently in a very bad state of health. Many die before even arriving to europe, others in the shop....but all of them are stressed and susceptible.
As you can imagine that´s not exactly the ideal way to start, is it? Plus it´s just not fair on the poor animals that are taken from their habitat to be sold dirt cheap.

However, there are a lot of very apropriate species being bred in the UK. There are quite a few respectable breeders in this forum from there. Some ideal species for beginners would be Pleurodeles waltl, Crested newt complex (Triturus dobrogicus, T.karelinii, T.carnifex....), Cynops pyrrhogaster, C.cyanurus, Tylototriton verrucosus...
You can find all of those, captive bred, for very reasonable prices. That way you know you have healthy animals, already used to captivity, without damaging the wild populations.

Also, before you get any animal make sure you cycle the tank properly. Have a read:
Caudata Culture Articles - Cycling