WD-40 And Tetra Filter

Zale2101

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Matt
First I'd like to say I'm not as stupid as I will sound in a minute, I really would just like an opinion.

One of my Tetra filters recently failed and I disassembled the unit to inspect the motor. As expected, it was covered in sand and I thought it had failed completely. I thoroughly rinsed the impeller and intake/outflow tubes and brushed them carefully, but the motor would not start. A slight buzzing sound indicated that the motor was recieveing power but it would not move.

On a whim, I decided to use WD-40 to restore the filter, and it worked without a hitch. As a former engineer, I love this stuff. My problem is I have no idea how toxic it is to my Axolotls, Fish, or other livestock. I have other filters running all my tanks at the moment so it's not like I need to put this filter back into a tank stat. I've plugged a sink and let the filter go at it in there for awhile, just cycling the water around.

My question is this: Now that I've left the filter in the sink, in clean water, how long will it take for any toxic residue from the WD-40 to dissipate? Will it ever dissipate, period? Can I no longer use this filter in a tank with livestock, or does it simply require good cleaning to remove any danger of poisoning a fish or lotls.

Please don't flame me because I sound retarded, I would never do something as stupid as spray a filter and just drop it right back into a tank. If it come down to it, I'll simply throw it away.

Since WD-40 isn't water soluble, I would think it would NOT dissipate on its own. You would probably have to use a solvent to get it off. Then rinse rinse rinse. And you'd probably have to scrub the whole thing to remove any WD-40 stuck to the filter itself. But even with this, I'd be wary.