Illness/Sickness: Possible Fungus?

Middu

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, everyone. I recently acquired my very first axolotl, and I fear that it might be ill. It's hard for me to tell, as I am new to axolotls, and this little juvenile is a wild type. When I purchased him, I was a bit concerned by a few white marks around one hind leg, as well as possible patches on the face.

I've also noticed that it doesn't swim around much and doesn't have that great of an appetite. It will eat very slowly and won't show much interest when attempting to hand feed.

I am currently cycling with the axolotl in the tank, but I monitor the water parameters daily and do water changes accordingly. The flow of the water is not an issue, and I am currently working on cooling the water , as I will admit that it is currently room temperature, which is much too warm. This is why I believe there may be a problem. I was also concerned when the vendor said that she keeps her axolotls at about 24 C.

I guess what I want to know is if there is fungus present, or if it's just part of the axolotl's coloration. I've attached some pictures, but I don't know if they will really be much help.

Attachments

• IMG_0832.jpg
    IMG_0832.jpg
    73.7 KB · Views: 219
  • IMG_0828.jpg
    IMG_0828.jpg
    93.2 KB · Views: 211
  • IMG_0833.jpg
    IMG_0833.jpg
    86.6 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
does it look like cotton wool???? it looks like something has taken a bite out of him. do you know if he was keet with anything else at his old home??.
lea

Not really. It isn't hanging off of him or anything. Also, it looks like part of the membrane around his tail is missing too. As far as his previously housing goes, he was probably kept with other axolotls. I know that they aren't aggressive towards each other if they are the same size, but I don't know how the little guy was kept.