Filter current

OpalRaven7

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a 10 gallon tank, about 1-2 gallons short of being full. The filter is an Elite Mini A-130 AC 120V 60Hz 3.3W. The spout is about an inch under the waters surface. The current is strong enough to move the floating plants on the waters surface, even though i have some plastic plants hanging down infront of the spout to try and diffuse some of the current. I thought that that was so much current for axolotls but they do not appear to be stressed.... Since the filter has only been on less then a week is it something that will stress them in time? Is there anything i can/should do to lessen the current? Im still very new to axolotls so any help is greatly appreciated :)

How many Axolotls are in this tank? That tank is BARELY BARELY BARELY big enough for 1.

Get a new tank ASAP, and after that worry about filters and whatnot. The animals are going to get sick very fast living in that small an amount of water. Axolotl produce a great deal of ammonia and will foul a tank that size in no time.

There are 2 axolotls, about 4 inches long, so the tank is jus over twice theyre length in width and depth of water, and almost 4 times theyre length. I dont feed them everyday, about every other day or so. And i have these rocks in the tank that absorb ammonia...

That tank won't be big enough for your axolotls for long; they can get up to 12 inches in a year. And zeolite, or 'ammonia absorbing rocks' aren't as effective as regular water changes and cycling. I would not rely on them to keep ammonia levels in your tank below toxic levels.

Axolotls that small should also be fed daily. Owners usually don't begin feeding every other day until the Axolotls are grown/almost full grown.

oh ok, i asked the breeder i got them from how often he was feeding them and he said every 2-3 days. Also so will a 10 gallon be ok until the get a few inches bigger?