Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: This is my planned course of action. What do I need to do differently?

aymeh21

Reaction score
So I should have some axolotl eggs arriving this week sometime. I have never done this before, but I have spent much of my time reading and researching. I hope all goes well and I have a general outline of my plan in my head, I figured it couldn't hurt to put it down and see what everyone else thought. Any comments will be appreciated. :lick:

1. once I receive the eggs I will place them in a 10 gallon aquarium with an airs stone located at one end.

2. When hatched I will start feeding them live brine shrimp and I will transfer them to separate tupperware containers. At this point I will be doing 100% water changes each day.

3. Once the axolotls start developing their front legs I will start to introduce Microworms into their diet.

4. Here's a question: When will axolotls not require a 100% water change every day? Because, at this point I am planning on dividing off the tank and moving them back into it.

5. This is all that I have really figured out, other than the last step of selling them once they're old enough!

Thanks in advance, please let me know if I'm doing anything wrong or if something else needs to be done.

Btw, I'm only caring for a dozen eggs.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Good plan, basically. Skip the microworms, they are smaller than brine shrimp (and I'm assuming when you say live brine shrimp, you mean newly-hatch ones?). Instead, wean them onto chopped blackworms. In addition to the 100% water changes, transfer them to clean containers at the same time.