Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Questions About Sick Axoltol Treatment?

Pariah

Reaction score
Hi, first off this is my first time ever creating a forum, so I'm new to how this works.

But on to the problems, I have an axolotl of mine that had gotten a fungal or bacterial infection over a week ago. At first I wasn't sure if it was that or a shedding problem and tried looking it up and his condition had worsened. He had gotten pretty bad so I had fridged him and started to give him salt baths. I've been doing this for about a week and three days (give or take) with one or two treatments a day.

His condition had greatly improved but I still see some white fluff on his gills (that look quite tattered by this point) and I was wondering if it might be safe to take him out or would it just spread again. The infection all over his body has disappeared quite a few days ago and it is only located on his gills.

The problem is I am wondering how much longer can he go without eating? I know their metabolism slows down greatly in cold temperatures. But I noticed he had taken a large dump while he was in the fridge, so whatever nutrients he had before hand most likely have passed through his system. And there were a couple days he was not eating before I placed him in there in the first place.