Setting tank for Axls' replacement.

epiphany101

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm resetting a tank for a (maybe two) Axie(s) and would like some info regarding oxygen requirements and filtration. We currently have two sources for getting oxygen into the water and are using "paddle wheel" type filter system. Are these sufficient? Should we scrap everything and start over? I have a 20 gal. tank and am considering adding sand for substrate. Also some larger rocks and plants for hiding. Just lost "my" previous Axolotl. I'm a student worker for the science lab at the college I go to. They will be footing the bill for this and I want to get the setup right the first time. Odd they would not pay for a vet bill for Axl, but will pay for new Axies and all the equipment:confused:. Still a little pissed :errr: about losing Axl...so they will have a nice bill for the new addition and his/her habitat. So, any help suggestions greatly appreciated. Thanks, Dave

Only keep 1 Axolotl in a 20 gallon, and you don't necessarily need oxygen sources. The filtration and water changes will keep the water oxygenated enough. Do you mean you have a bio-wheel in a cascade filter that hangs on the back? If so, that is fine, but you need to make sure the water returning into the tank isn't disrupting the water too much. Canister filters are def. the best choice in terms of water quality and ease of maintenance.

Thanks Eric, yes it is a bio wheel. Wasn't sure about the oxygen requirements as I haven't been able to find anything about it. So, no need to pump O2 into the tank?

Nope, no need for any airstones...but you certainly can use one if you prefer.

I think most people just use the air pumps/air stones to help keep the water cooler. The air disturbs the top of the water, increasing evaporation but decreasing temp by a bit. Most axies will come up and take a gulp of air anyway, so I don't think air stones are completely necessary.