Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Food for axies

Imy

Reaction score
Hey everyone.

I still don't have an axolotl yet because i want to make sure i have all the plans ready instead of just going out and getting one and not having a clue on how to properly care for them.

I'm new to the axolotl and was just wondering if you can feed them maggots as a source of live food? If earth worms are hard to come-by. Its been very cold weather hear lately so cant exactly go out and try picking up a few to farm. haha.

Thanks for the help.
Much appriciated.

Imy:animal::animal:

AuraCantos

Reaction score
I'm not sure if they're okay to use as axie food sparingly, but I definitely know that I would never, ever feed my own axies maggots. Maggots are only found in meat-bearing composts, and if I'm not mistaken, can carry loads of bacteria that you wouldn't want near your axies. (I could be wrong, though...) Mammalian meat is also very calorie-dense, and axies shouldn't be eating calorie-dense foods. (Hence why you don't feed them beefheart/beefstrips, ect)

If you can't find a bait shop, petstore, or gardening center near you to pick up some earthworms, I'd recommend getting some sinking trout/salmon pellets until you can. These are a better substitute than maggots. You can also try ordering compost worms online and making yourself a cheap, easy wormbin out of a small tupperware container. In the US we have a site called unclejimswormfarm that sells red wigglers for a decent price.

I say skip the creepy crawly maggots until you can find either pellets or worms. :D

Imy

Reaction score