4 hatched out! So amazing!

scouter

Reaction score
Country
United States
Do I need to seperate the 4 that have hatched out into a different container so I can start feeding or should I wait until more hatch or should I just put the bbs in with the whole gang? Also, I have been reading that the bbs foul the water so how long do folks suggest I allow them to hang around in tank waiting to be eaten before I pipette them out? Do you rinse the bbs with freshwater prior to placing in tank with newbies?

This forum has been an amazing education experience for me.. .. thank you all who kindly reply! I can't believe I set up a brine shrimp hatchery after watching a tutorial on youtube...:rolleyes:

Well first off congrats on the babies!

This is my first time hatching eggs as well since my females were actually females and MALE :)
And yes, I too have a coke bottle BBS hatchery too

Ok, so here is my first timer advice which has been working great so far (knock on wood) and all my babies are doing great!

I think your should leave the hatchlings in there with the eggs until most have hatched out (I had to take 2 out of the egg myself) Then clean out all of the remaining goop and eggs.

Now with the BBS you definitley want to rinse them because you don't want any salt in with your axies. I bought a brine shrimp net at my petstore but they fell right through so I used my stockings instead and that worked great.

I do two 100% water changes a day. I feed them very early in the am and when I get home from work I chage out the water. Then I feed them again and change the water right before I go to sleep. I also have some java fern in there so they can hide if they want.

Oh yea, and if you are like me and paranoid that they aren't eating just wait for their bellies to turn pink and your mind will be at ease.

I hope this helps and if anyone would like to comment and improve things that I'm doing please do so!