Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Wards natural science?

Srkoe

Reaction score
Has anyone ordered an Axie from here? If so, would you suggest them or not? How big and in what kind of condition was your axie in? Thanks!

Hunter9

Reaction score
i'm not an expert but i checked out the web site for this place. its biological supply- that means that the animals are most likely to be wild caught. wild caught animals normaly arn't in the best of shape. it's different with the axolotol tho. they are almost extinct in the wild so these are most likely captive bred. that being said, they were probably bred in labratory conditions. they basicly keep them in 1 gallon jars- so not the best conditions for an adult axie( or any axe for that matter). even if they weren't kept in these conditions; i wouldnt risk it. so i recomend getting an axie from a reputable breed here on the forum. G'day :D

Nathan050793

Reaction score
I've ordered other caudates (but not axolotls) from Wards and they seem to be pretty "hit or miss." You would be much better off finding axolotls from a breeder here on the forum. There are usually tons of ads for them in the "For Sale" section, although you'll have more luck in the spring.

Good Luck!

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Try using the forum Search. I think there have been various experiences reported.

Axolotls are never wild-caught, but I would expect all of their other amphibians would be.

Molch

Reaction score