Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Growing babies into a large tank

JessKB

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
First off I would like to say thank you to the forum. I've been lurking here for a while learning about axolotls and I must say there is tons of information here! I am new to axolotls but experienced in fish (mostly puffers) so I know about cycling and am sure I can set up a tank easily with what I have around the house for some axolotls.

I plan on getting a pair of juveniles hopefully and this is where my dilemma comes in. I have an extra 50 gallon tank that will be their eventual home. However, I know that I shouldn't place small axies (2 inch) in a large tank like that. The only other one I have currently is a 10gallon that I planned on keeping them in until they get big enough to place in the large tank. So my question is (sorry I'm a rambler): is it realistic to keep two juvenile axolotls together in the small tank until they reach the size where they will be ok in the large tank? Would it be ok to put them in the large tank already? If it's not, I'll just get one baby instead of two but I would love a pair.

Thanks in advance,
Jess

JessKB

Reaction score
Thanks for the feedback Eric. The 50 gallon is not set up, and is in storage so I would prefer to use the ten gallon while I set up the 50 and make it into my dream tank. Would that work? If that's not enough room then I will pull out the 50 and set her up. I want whats best for the animals I purchase.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
2 inch juveniles will outgrow a 10 gallon pretty quickly. They can grow an inch a month!