Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Tiger Sal juvies - advice requested

firedreams

2010 Research Grant Donor
Reaction score
Hi,

I purchased a pair of juvenile Tiger Sals about a week ago, and I looking for some advice.

1. I am new to this species, and noticed that my sals look quite different from each other. One is yellow & black with a distinctive spotted pattern and a long, thin body, while the other is a mottled grey colour with a shorter, more blocky body (see pics attached).The pet store told me that they are CB, and are thus presumably siblings. Is this conceivable given how different they look?

2. In terms of behaviour, the yellow salamander is quite outgoing and gregarious. The grey salamander, however, is not very active or responsive and spends most of its time sleeping in its burrow. It comes out every other day or so to swim in the water dish. After some difficulty attempting to feed the grey salamander, I discovered that it will only eat when it is in the water. It does not seem to notice food on land, but is very responsive in water. Any idea why this might be? Could this be because the salamander is young and has not learned to eat on land yet?

3. The pet store suggested that I sprinkle a calcium supplement on all food fed to the sals. I have heard of this with crickets, but I am feeding them earthworms & grubs. Is a calcium supplement necessary with these food types?

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_5280.jpg
    IMG_5280.jpg
    105.3 KB · Views: 240
  • IMG_5465.jpg
    IMG_5465.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_5105.jpg
    IMG_5105.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 297

azn567

Reaction score