Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Sick fire belly newts? help please

Batgirl3210

Reaction score
I am new to owning fire belly newts (chinese) and i recently purchased them about a week ago. i did a lot of research beforehand and i keep the temp of the tank a little chilly around 65-ish and i feed them bloodworms. one of them was a tad larger then the other when i purchased them and he doesnt like to swim a lot and he likes to sit out on rocks or stay still in the bottom of the cage mostly and i wondered if this was of any concern, he has also shed once already about two days ago and i assume ate it as it was no longer in the tank. just last night however it almost looked as though he was throwing something up. i also wanted to know if that was of any concern. i removed it from the cage as it was rather gross. i also have a second fire belly which i was worried about as when i bought him he swam around a lot but i noticed the next day he had a swollen leg and didnt use it very much and it recently progressed and looks as though it has sores on it. could this be from shipping? and should i do anything about it? i will attach pictures. however i apologize about some because the flash accidentally went off so the coloring isnt quite the same.

Attachments

• 1296100202.jpg
    1296100202.jpg
    174.3 KB · Views: 1,157
  • 1296140175.jpg
    1296140175.jpg
    193.1 KB · Views: 1,081

Azhael

Site Contributor
Reaction score