Axolotl owners in Toronto Canada?

virginia

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
La Vie
Im somewhat new to axolotls but just want some insight on what you do when summer time comes around because I currently have my tank set up in my living room and it gets hot as hell (literally:evil:) with the sunrays during the summer time. (Currently okay with it being winter time) Any tips??

Also the only two big shops I go to around here is PetsMart and BigAls. I'm trying to look for some live worms to feed to my axolotls but haven't had much luck. Was wondering what you fellow axie owners feed your pets (Brand?) and/or if you know any places in Toronto that sell live worms? I heard of the trout/salmon pellets but didn't have any luck when I went to BigAls and they discontinued it.

Thank you, it would help out so much! :D

-V

Hi Virginia,
I am not in Toronto, but in Alberta and have had axolotls for years. I order my axolotl(salmon) pellets from the Ambystoma Genetic Stock Center at the university of kentucky. it is $5 for a pretty big bag and they have different sizes. and you can fit alot of them into their box with $20 shipping. Most pet store have bottles of salamander and newt pellets from HBH but they are pretty small for adult axies. As for worms, i get my bait worms from Canadian Tire or some of the sporting goods stores, but debating weather to start my own worm farm in the newt/axolotl room.
If it gets hot in your upstairs then you have various options. I use a portable air conditioner that has a hose that hooks up to a window, but you can try fans, a chiller, curtains, frozen water bottle in tank, or moving the tank. I keep mine in the basement and rarely have to chill the water, and it gets pretty hot here too. The axoltols really don't like warm water and become unhealthy and even die.

Good luck with the chillin'
They are awesome creatures aren't they?

Thanks Mizzerman!