Multi amphibian tank

mizzerman

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hello all,

I have aquired a 100 gallon tank for free. i would like to make 4 dividers that have holes/slots for water to pass through but not newts. Therefore having 5-20Gallon tanks. In an ideal world, if the caudata were quarantined before hand, dewormed and healthy, which if any can be in the same water filtered by the same filter? Or are their toxins too much for other species? Could you have different firebelly subspecies, (gold dust and regular firebelly), or axololts and Ribbed newts? As long as their environmental needs are the same.

Looking for information, not reprimand, i am not interested in interbreeding, and want all my critters to be healthy, so if there is any danger it will be a single species tank.
Thx

Well in theory you could be able to but I would just build one awesome huge paludarium! That would be cool. I dunno, I am not that experienced so mabye some of the mods and other more experinced members could pitch in.

First, the dividers would need to be very carefully engineered. Not only do the vertical dividers need to stay in place well, but you also need to think very carefully about how to stop animals from climbing over the top of the divider and into the next compartment. The divider needs to have a secure seal against the lid somehow, and this is not easy to do.

If you are considering some of the larger species such as axololts or ribbed newts, you should consider fewer dividers and larger areas.

Most people aren't very careful about not-spreading water from tank to tank, so I don't think you'll have a serious disease worry (although it would be bad if a disease did happen, as it would spread very fast). Regarding the toxin question, that's hard to answer. Some species might produce enough to bother another species. I don't know. It would be a shame to build a complicated divider system and then find out that toxins are a problem.