Question: My Axel the Axolotl

tK

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum, i bumped into it while googling axolotls. But yeah, i'm new to the newt family and my friend sent me a picture of an axolotl and my girlfriend fell it love with its cuteness so i bought one. While doing the research, i found out that axolotls eat various types of food, so i started out with mealworms, only on the first day did my axolotl eat 5 worms, i was surprised, but after that, he (i think it's a boy and my gf thinks it's a girl) stopped eating and if lucky, it ate only one worm a day and even non at times. Then i tried chicken liver, i tried looking for beef heart, but the supermarkets near me doesn't sell it. If anyone knows beef heart sellers near Carlton,Victoria, Australia, let me know. But yeah. only ate one slice of chicken liver a day. Then i got my friend to bring some feeder fish from work, yesterday he ate one fish that my gf hurt while pinching the tail trying to feed Axel. But yeah, it just happened to drop near Axel's mouth, and tadah he ate. I was happy to see him eat, but the second fish, he didn't eat.

And since then i left 2 feeder fish in the tank with the rest isolated in a small measuring cup. And he have yet to eat a single one.

My tank is 50cm X 30cm X 40cm, with a filter. Pictures will come tomorrow. Water temperature is actually abit on the high side, around 20-24. Trying to keep it low by using iced bottles. But yeah, having a problem with it not eating. Water is chlorine treated using Prime.

I know the tank is on the small side. But i don't have space for a bigger tank. but it'll only be Axel and Axel alone, no plants and no other fish (other than feeders)

What would you guys recommend for me to add to the tank? and what is suitable food (cheap at the same time) i can source (no live worms as i can't accommodate them in my apartment).

tK

HI there and welcome,