Question: Eco-Complete Planted?

dvl445

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

I am new to Axolotls. I jsut bought two 3 inch juvi's from Jay and I switched out my Eco-Complete Planted substrate for sand.

(Eco-Complete Plant Substrate)

I am worried however about my plants as I don't think they like sand very much. (I personally hate it) I was wondering if anyone knows if my previous substrate was safe? Does anyone use it?

Thanks!

James

That should be fine to use as well, although I'd imagine hard to clean axie poop out of. However, your plants will likely not be happy regardless as axies tend to uproot plants fairly regularly and the amount of light they need compared to what axies prefer is also conflicting. You may want to get a separate tank for your plants if you want them to survive.

you know people say axie's uproot plants, but I have a fairly planted tank and mine never get uprooted.

I think you are pretty lucky with a gentle axie. I had some very pretty plants when I started out and none have survived. I think the low-light axies like may be part of the problem, but htey also get moved all over the tnak. All i have now is some java moss, which does fairly well but catches bloodworms and needs rinsing. I even tried to pick out plants on the "hardy, low-light" list, but apparently mine prefer the fake plants! The planted tanks always look so nice, I wish mine would have flourished. What types of plants do you use?