Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Newbie question on axolotls and live food

BioGirl

Reaction score
Hi I am new to this but I really want to set up a tank with an axolotl and I have just been browsing the forums. I think it would be really cool to replicate a natural habitat and I was wondering if that would be possible and healthy for them. Say, have some live plants, add some daphnia and let the culture grow a bit, then add some guppies and the axolotl. the guppies would eat the daphnia and the axolotl could have its pick of both I suppose. I am assuming that I would still need to supplement food with a pellet type occassionally?
Thanks
BioGirl

carsona246

Reaction score
I wouldn't put guppies in the tank immediatly with your axoltol, as your probably going to get a juvenile. Guppies can be put with axolotls, but you need to watch for gill nipping, as it can be a problem. Live plants are always a good edition to a tank. You would still be feeding them earthworms/pellets as the staple diet, as guppies wouldn't make a super healthy staple, but you can keep guppies with your axie, just make sure they're not eating his gills.

Star

Reaction score
I was thinking of guppies myself but I always thought that they were tropical fish, is this not case? Might get myself some if not :)

smily sam

Reaction score
guppies are tropical and coldwater they are also bracish/marine but I woldn't keep guppies with axolotls any way if you intend on buying them to feed to your axies it is illegal in this country, plus guppies nip axie gills:(

smily sam

Reaction score