Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

New to Axolotls and have a few gill questions

Duhend

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of Axolotls, I've wanted one for years since I got my first Tiger Salamander, and I have a question.

I've poured over the threads and forums for loads of great info, but one I'm still unsure on is gills, look, position, ect. I know they are supposed to be in a low current filtration and their gills reflect if they are unhappy by showing them being pushed forward. My question is how far is too far forward, the sister website to this one showed a good picture, but as I look at other pictures the gills seem to be in a similar position. My little guy is swimming about, I have the filtration cut down, but his gills seem to still be standing straight up, is this normal and I'm being paranoid?
I've not seen them any farther forward, but as a new owner I am curious. There is a kink in the tail as well, which I also know can be a sign of stress, but its not at the end, its farther toward the body than I have seen in images. All the water numbers are good and he/she is eating heartily but I worry as any new owner does. I've had him/her less than a week so I'm sure there is still adjustment time involved. Queso (its name) seems to be in good spirits, spending part of the time lounging on the bottom and swimming around.

I thank anyone and everyone for the feedback, I am sneaking away from midterm studies to wander around the site some more.

lea

Reaction score
That is a cute axie. One of my axie's gills goes forward when he is in hunting mode and seeing there is a worm hanging out of your babies mouth Im guessing it is feeding time.