Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Extrememly swollen cloaca

melandallanie

Reaction score
Hi there. This is my first time posting. I need some help... I noticed my male axolotl rubbing his cloaca on the floating plants early yesterday morning. I figured he was producing a spermatophore. He was. He's done this before. The thing is, he seemed to have problems actually expelling it? He's always placed these on the rocks on the bottom of the tank, never in the plants. After about an hour of rubbing himself on pretty much everything in the tank, it came out. He continued rubbing on things and another spermatophore was released but it took like almost 4 hours this time. When I went to sleep he was still swimming around and rubbing on things. I woke up this morning, he's still rubbing, and he is extremely irritated/raw. It looks like maybe He's got another one stuck in there??
I have included pictures.

Any help that anyone has would be greatly appreciated! I don't want him to continue to torture himself like this.
I'm not too sure if this could be related, but I moved A BUNCH of eggs from my main tank to a nursery tank 7 days ago. (He and my female decided to surprise me)
He's also been hanging out around the top of the tank... Looks so tired...

Thanks so much for any advice you can pass this way :D

Attachments

• DSC00232.jpg
    DSC00232.jpg
    173 KB · Views: 14,628
  • DSC00237.jpg
    DSC00237.jpg
    111.8 KB · Views: 4,715
  • DSC00244c.jpg
    DSC00244c.jpg
    301.1 KB · Views: 3,626
Last edited:

Egglebear

Reaction score
my male of one year has a swollen pair too, :( more on one side than the other.