Colour type on axies...

orgoca

Reaction score
Country
Mexico
Display Name
Carlos
I have 3 larvae which I bought as leucistic axolotl. Looking at them I find it hard to believe these little guys will grow to be white and red gilled. I think they look more like either wild or maybe melanoid. Is there any way to tell at this young age?

The link bellow will take you to the photo album and registration card that states "white (leucistic) axolotl"

Los Mijos | Facebook

Last edited:
those look like wildtype to me, but I havn't dealt with leucistic larvae before.

Here is a picture of a leucistic axolotl. They do have dark spots when they are larvae which lighten or remain small as they grow and become white.

The axies you have..... they do look more like wildtype just because of the spots I see that are also on the fin and tail.... if it was a leucistic then the spots would only occur along the back I think...

I'm not an expert on identifying larvae but I think those are wild type.

Attachments

• HDR_Larve.jpg
    HDR_Larve.jpg
    23.9 KB · Views: 1,148
I think these could still be white. They are not albino because of the black eyes and probably not melanoid as there seems to be a bit of a shiny ring in the eye. Whites can have quite a lot of pigment when small and if grown cool and slow.

Wait and see and let us know!

Hey guys thanks a lot. I will keep you updated to what they look like when adults.

Cheers!

As they grow I can now see some red coloring starting to show on the gills... Maybe white after all?

(look at the most recent photos at the end of the album)

Los Mijos | Facebook

Not Leucistic. The migration of melanin (the dark pigment) is limited to the top of their heads and down the middle of their backs which alone rules out these guys who clearly have spots on the lower parts of their bodies and tails.