Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Tiny White Spots on Albino Axies Tail Fin?

AdamR

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm relatively new to this, I've had 3 axies for about 2.5 months now and they've been doing fine and growing like weeds. They all eat very well, never had any issues.
Anyways, my largest is about 6 inches long and robust (eats like a pig). About a week ago I noticed that their are tiny shiny white spots all over his tail, don't really see any on the rest of his body. He does not have a curved tail or abnormally forward gills. His eating has not changed and he still greets me at the rim of his tub when I come near. He is in a 6qt sterilite tub and receives about 20-25% water changes every 3 days and I use "TOPFIN Tap Water Dechlorinator". All of their water temps are kept around 65-69F. He eats axie pellets and bloodworms (I was going to start using earthworms, then I noticed the spots). Is there something I'm missing? The other 2 receive the same care (each in seperate tubs) and have no issues.

On another note; I have heard of people feeding their axies by hand, how is this accomplished? While they seem to tolerate my presence they do not appreciate me touching the water. I was hoping to move the axie in question and my Leucistic to a 20gal Long tank, but that is on hold until I know what this is.

Thanks for you help!

dragonlady

Reaction score