Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Natural Habitat and Diet

kay9

Reaction score
Hi everyone I am new here. I recently found my axolotls at a pet store and with a weekend of research I went back and purchased 2 for 8.00USD each. I have a beautiful albino with white eyes Leeloo and a cute little dark one Ax. I am a animal behavior consultant (mostly dogs but I work with some cats too) and am a really big advocate for natural diets and using natural instincts to train. So I have been searching and searching for information about the natural habitat and diet of the axolotl. I have not been able to find out much other than they eat fish, worms, snails, ect (um what kind?) and their home is polluted and being over taken by nonnative fish. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can make their homes as natural as possible? Btw as much as I know about mammals I am practically brand new to aquatic creatures.

dragonlady

Reaction score
congratulations on your new additions! :D

Some helpful links for you to start with - Check out Axolotls: The Fascinating Mexican Axolotl and the Tiger Salamander for starters if you haven't.

You may also find Axolotl Sanctuary helpful.

As far as diet...out here, live earthworms/nightcrawlers (Canadian nightcrawlers/European nightcrawlers or even worms from your backyard if it is fertilizer/pesticide free) are considered the best all around diet for your axolotl. Feeder fish are not all that nutritious comparatively speaking and can carry disease that you would not want to expose your axolotl to. Here's another link: Caudata Culture Articles - Food Items for Captive Caudates

Hope they help!

Boo Penguin

Reaction score