Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Need help cycling

larn

Reaction score
Hi

I have a bit of a dilema, I have a large tank which i am trying to prepare for my 3 axolotls, but i have no way of testing the water apart from a trip to the local pet shop.

I thought i should use the media from my other aquarium to seed it, however the problem is since i am new to keeping fish as well as axolotls the fish aquarium had high levels of ammonia (and the rest) one of my fish recently died, so the media that i transfered to the new tank probably didn't have any friendly bacteria.

From what i understand about cycling a fishless tank is that a source of ammonia is requried and to let the filter run for a few weeks to start the cycle. But does that mean the bacteria will grow it'self?

Before i realized i had bad water in my aquarium I had put some substrate, rocks, plants and squeezed the filter and put this dirty looking water in there, but i am confused because i did that 3 days ago and when i went to the shop they told me the level of ammonia was 0 nitite 0 and nitrate was high? i was exspecting levels of ammonia, so i don't know if the tank is cycling or there was not enough ammonia. From what i have read it should take a long time..

I hope this makes sense, i am new to this so i am a bit confused. i am embarrased to say i can't afford £20 to get a test kit probably for another week. The pet shop also told me that it's pointless testing weekly because it's not accurate enough.

i am open to suggestionsand advice thanks

Larn

MereB

Reaction score
Re: Need help cylcing

Tricky one :( but do-able :happy:

A few questions though to clarify the time line