Help, need advice

HelloKitty

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm very new to the world of Axolotls and have only had them for a week. I'm not sure I'm doing this very well. They are about 3 inches long and I have been feeding them a block of frozen blood worm every 1 to 2 days and I have been attempting to clean out old food and poop with a long armed tea strainer. I added a sachet of stress coat and stress zyme to the tank and I have also used tapsafe as well. They have a filter and the temp is staying at about 19 degrees. There is a light but it doesn't seem to bother them, they spend a lot of time in the open either lounging, swimming eating or looking at us. The light in the pet shop was brighter so I guess its just what they are used to.

Anyway, both seem to be eating the blood worm and they seem to get on well. Theres been no biting and all limbs and gills are present and correct. They are also very sociable, sometimes following each other Athena was nosing at my fingers while I was removing old food from the tank and Aristotle climbed on my hand. So far they have seemed really happy in thier 1st week with us. They don't hide much so I am guessing they are happy.