I am a Axolotl newbie and need help!

Adin

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone!
If someone could help me with questions I have I would love that!

I am very new to the forum and to Axolotl and I wish to build a custom display tank to hold Axies as pets.

First off I must mention I am planning on building a custom tank that is 5 feet long by 16 inches and 16 inches tall.

Also my tank will be in my bedroom which will be in the basement which tends to be the room in Colorado homes that are much cooler than the rest of the house.

How many Axies could I reasonably fit in this tank allowing them to be relaxed? Would this be too big for just 2 of them? Would the pair get lonely in a large tank?

What equipment do I need for the tank? Filter sizes? (As I do not want to deal with changing water in a tank of this size.)

I also want to put more creatures in the tank for viewing purposes.
I am wondering if things like Ghost shrimp, aquatic snails and another creatures alike could be in with the Axies with out either doing harm to each other.
Suggestions on more creatures than CAN be in the tank with them would be greatly appreciated.

If for any reason the room temperature of the house I am moving into is too warm is there any ways of cooling the water other than ice?

What kinds of plants of live plants are best for axies?

I know things like fish cannot be in with axies.. And I should use sand and not rocks that they could swallow or hurt their bellies.

Answering these questions would be greatly appreciated!
I might have more in the future I am just not remembering.

Any suggestions for this project is welcomed and greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Adin.

Hi there,

Nice size tank! That would accommodate 5 comfortably. Two would not get lonely - axolotls don't get lonely actually. They do well alone. For a tank that size, I would suggest a canister filter. A small external should be fine with a spray bar. Fluval and Eheim are a couple of popular ones.