Question: Sick or just normal?

spaca

Reaction score
Country
Belgium
hi everyone this is my very first time and im getting worried about a line of yellow dots on my axolotls skin it is not bubbles they look like the skin was painted with smal yellow circles the make a line right next to the spine on both sides from head to tail my water is cristal clear and perfectly healthy and they seem to be ok no stress marks eating fine its just thouse yellow dots that i dont know what to do and ill make another question about tank mates i have a big catfish he is always cleaning the glass and its do shy that if the axolotl looks at him he goes faraway to some dark place so here is the question would that be a problem ?
by the way the tank is 50liters good or no good for 2 axolotls and the catfish?

Hey, nothing to worry about regarding the yellow, it's totally normal. They are xanthophores and part of the normal range of pigments you can find in axolotls. One of mine has them, too!

About the catfish though - I'm not a fish keeper so perhaps someone with more knowledge of specific breeds will help out here, but the general rule is you don't keep fish with axolotls, especially the sucky kind, they can harm your axolotl, even fatally.

How big are your axolotls? 50litres sounds terribly small for two adults.

I wouldn't keep any sort of catfish in with an axolotl because catfish's fins are extremely sharp and hard. I'm been cut by a catfish's fin on my hand (hard enough ti draw blood) so imagine what it would do to an axolotls insides if they decided that it looked like a tasty meal.

they are really small i didnt even try to mesure them they fit in the palm of my hand
so i think in a year or less ill be able to buy a bigger tank how big should it be? and yes just as u said(look like you saw the future about the catfish) one of my axolotls have a cut in hes tail can be the catfish he is a huge catfish like 2 times the axolotl